Accreditation Councils

​The Accreditation Councils are to ensure quality of the programs offered at institutional level. There are 9 independent professional councils in Pakistan. 

Existing Accreditation Councils/Professional Bodies:

  1. Pakistan Bar Council (PBC) 
  2. Pakistan Council for Architects and Town Planners (PCATP)
  3. Pakistan Engineering Council (PEC)
  4. Pakistan Medical & Dental Council (PMDC)
  5. Pakistan Nursing Council (PNC)  
  6. Pakistan Pharmacy Council (PCP) 
  7. Pakistan Veterinary Medical Council (PVMC)
  8. National Council for Homoeopathy (NCH)
  9. National Council for Tibb (NCT)

While five councils have been established under HEC. According to the Powers and Functions of the Commission as stated in Ordinance No. LIII of 2002, Para 10, Clause e “the Higher Education Commission may set up national or regional evaluation councils or authorize any existing council or similar body to carry out accreditation of Institutions including their departments, facilities and disciplines by giving them appropriate ratings. The Commission shall help build capacity of existing councils or bodies in order to enhance the reliability of the evaluation carried out by them.

Accreditation Councils Established by HEC:

  1. National Accreditation Council for Teachers Education (NACTE)
  2. National Agricultural Education Accreditation Council (NAEAC)
  3. National Computing Education Accreditation Council (NCEAC)
  4. National Business Education Accreditation Council (NBEAC) 
  5. National Technology Council (NTC)​

Currently, Bachelor of Science (Computer Science) and Bachelor of Science (Software Engineering) programs are accredited by National Computing Education Accreditation Council (NCEAC) and BSc Electrical Engineering is accredited by the Pakistan Engineering Council (PEC)

Pakistan Engineering Council